Sunday is our day to really shine!

Growing up, I remember,

The ladies wore their absolute Sunday best and then topped that off with a hat!

Sunday dinner was a big deal. Sometimes we used the “good china” and fancy silverware, sometimes not. Sometimes we ate in the dining room, sometimes not. But we, the kids, always had to set the table. We also had to practice our formal table manners and be on our best behavior.  We didn’t always eat Sunday dinner at home and often, we had guests.

The meal was a “cook all day” meal . . . usually started before church and left in the oven or the slow cooker during church. Oh, and the best desserts! There was always a freshly baked cake or cobbler (I am so from the south) or a pie . . . someone’s church was bound to have a bake sale. I remember one time having homemade ice cream at my grandparent’s house. Aww, man!

After church and before dinner, I wished that I was wearing my Toughskin jeans rather than a dress and patent leather shoes. It didn’t stop me from playing though. And now that I think of it, that’s when the girls usually played hopscotch and the boys always wanted to play chase . . . hmmmmm.

Our tradition of Sunday dinner is rooted in the practice that allowed the slaves a day of rest on Sunday. Then, as now, sharing a meal is an incredibly bonding event. On Sunday, family, friends, and community take time to gossip, debate, and reconnect. It’s a wonderful thing!

Hopefully the tradition hasn’t disappeared entirely. Still, I don’t personally know of anyone who practices it. In my own best interest, I resolve to bring this back into my life.

I want a day to shine!


