After a long, luxurious weekend, it is time to get back to business.

1. Water

Goal: to drink a healthy amount of water every day. Rule of thumb: body weight divided in half is the amount of water, in ounces, that the body requires daily.

This week: I will add 1 cup of tea in the morning and 1 after dinner.

Result: I actually did this everyday . . . until the long weekend. I will attempt this step again this week.

2. Walking

Goal: to take the recommended 10,000 steps per day.

This week: To get a baseline, I will wear a pedometer to count my average steps per day.

Result: I kept up with my steps all week. My average steps per day are 2840. ?! 2840 is a long way away from 10,000. I will add more steps this week by parking further away at work, stores, etc. and taking a walk after work.

3. Gratitude Journal

Goal: to maintain a healthy, happy, positive outlook.

This week: Before bed, I will list 5 things that I’m grateful about for that day.

Result: I did this for a total of 2 days. 😦 I recounted the things that I’m grateful for mentally but that wasn’t the task. To journal, I must write. This week, I will jot down what I’m grateful for throughout the day. At the end of the day, I will have at least 5 things.

4. Time Management

Goal: to be more organized and finish projects timely.

This week: I will list 5 things that I want to accomplish this week and schedule one per day with a time to start and finish the task.

Result: I accomplished 1 thing on my list. Ok, I’m not doing so great at this but it is only the first week 🙂 This week, I will finish the 4 items left on last week’s list.

5. Punctuality

Goal: to be punctual as a matter of course.

This week: I will schedule my time and stick to it.

Result: I generally stuck with my schedule and was on time 75% of the week. Other than the fact that I didn’t complete my tasks, I was on time most of the week. That’s not too bad!  I will attempt this step again this week for better results.

